Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Kitchen Knives  (Read 13508 times)

Offline bernman

• Cellarman
Kitchen Knives
« on: December 01, 2012, 02:50:39 pm »
Looking for recomendations for a kitchen knife set. I am not a pro chef so I don't need a $400.00 set of knives. I am looking for something good quality in the $100.00-$150.00 or so range. I have read reviews for a number of sets in that price range and they mixed. I was looking at Victorinox 8-Piece Knife Block Set
 online and the reviews are good and it is in my price range. Any suggestions or recomendations?

Thanks

Offline greatplainsbrewer

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Kitchen Knives
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 02:53:10 pm »
Have the Fibrox handled victorinox and really like them.  Might just get the chefs knife and build up from there.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, 03:30:03 pm »
Have the Fibrox handled victorinox and really like them.  Might just get the chefs knife and build up from there.

Same here.  Choice of Cook's Illustrated and I love them.  When I bought my last one, the guy at the knife shop said they're what just about every chef in town uses.  Great knives don't have to be expensive.  The 8" chef's knife is $25-30 and the 3 1/2 in. paring knife is about 6 bucks.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline mihalybaci

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2012, 04:26:02 pm »