Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 2729 times)

Offline synthesis

• 1st Kit
Introduction
« on: December 15, 2012, 03:27:22 pm »
Hello:  I am a new AHA Member.  I am from Wisconsin.  I have only taken a Homebrew class at a local homebrew supply store.  I did purchase an English Ale starter kit and carboy; however, have not had a chance to start brewing.  The owner of the supply store indicated he would be happy to do it with me.  I had the opportunity to meet and talk with a manufacturer of brew kettles.  I am intrigued by the science of the process and mechanics of the equipment.   

My push, however, to do this is a paper that I am writing for my college composition course (I am a returning adult student).  I have chosen the subculture of homebrewing beer.  I know a gentleman who has been doing this for 35 years and makes an incredible beer.  I love a good flavored amber or darker ale.   Some of the values and beliefs I have found thus far are the challenge in the creation of a good product--quality flavor.  The competition.  Fellow homebrewers are one big family.  I am wondering if anyone would be interested in sharing their values and beliefs relative to the hobby of homebrewing beer. 

Offline ccfoo242

• Brewmaster
  • I drank what? - Socrates
Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2012, 05:29:01 pm »
Welcome!
Intra cervisiam est deus.

Offline alcaponejunior

• Brewer
  • Latest creation: Big Smash Saturday
    • alcaponejunior.wordpress.com
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2012, 08:02:49 am »
Honestly it's not a  conscious decision to uphold any values, I just want to make great beer.  I guess superior craftsmanship and liking hand crafted things do count for something in my case, but I'm still mostly in it for the beer.  If you're generous with your beer, there's plenty of social benefits from homebrewing too.

Offline davidgzach

• Senior Brewmaster