Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Conflicting Info for Bottle Conditioning  (Read 2948 times)

Offline hollnagel

• 1st Kit
Conflicting Info for Bottle Conditioning
« on: December 23, 2012, 02:19:06 pm »
Hi there! I'm somewhat new to home-brewing, have done 5 partial mash sessions, and I bottle my beer.  I heard something at my local home-brewing store that I thought was interesting regarding conditioning your ale in bottles, but it was contrary to other things I've heard:  "After 2-3 weeks in the bottle at room temp, test a sample, and if you have sufficient carbonation in your ale, continue your conditioning under refrigeration.  You want your yeast to stop working and settle out.  This will prevent unwanted off-flavors."

But, I was under the impression that conditioning and storage (up to several months) at room temp is the norm.

Your thoughts along these lines are appreciated.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Conflicting Info for Bottle Conditioning
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, 02:31:41 pm »
I agree with everything but the last lines about stopping the yeast and off flavors.  Your understanding is good.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline dordway29

• Cellarman
Re: Conflicting Info for Bottle Conditioning
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2012, 03:25:39 pm »
Extended storage won't necessarily create off-flavors. Depending on how much fermentables are still in your beer, you could explode your bottles. That would be the only reason to refrigerate.

Offline tom

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Denver, CO