Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fly Sparging  (Read 14481 times)

Offline Don't Worry Be Hoppy

• 1st Kit
Fly Sparging
« on: January 05, 2013, 07:08:23 am »
I am new to all grain brewing and am confused as to the length of time to fly sparge. Is there a formula of number quarts of sparge water to minutes of run time?

Offline BrewArk

• Brewmaster
  • Rick - Newark, California
    • BrewArk
Re: Fly Sparging
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 11:49:45 am »
I think it would be system dependent.  Adding the water fast would approach batch sparging.  Adding it slow could require a mashout, or you might change the character of your brew.

I don't think it's a matter or preference, not that there's an optimum.
Beer...Now there's a temporary solution!

Na ZdravĂ­

coastsidemike

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2013, 02:27:03 pm »
What we're looking for is overall extraction efficiency with either method, so it's not so much a matter of time (at first) but keeping tabs of pre-boil gravity with a refractometer and doing some math in regards to overall wort volume.  I keep notes as I go and adjust the process as needed.

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2013, 02:54:10 pm »
I fly sparge on a ten gallon system.  My run-off is slow enough that it takes about 30 to 40 minutes to collect 11 gallons of wort.  I keep about a half-inch of 170F water on top of the grain bed, matching the inflow of hot liquor with the outflow of wort.  I stop when I get the appropriate pre-boil amount, so I don't have to measure the sparge water volume very carefully.
Cutting the grain bed gently with a long bread knife keeps the sparge water from channeling.
Jeff Gladish, Tampa (989.3, 175.1 Apparent Rennarian)
Homebrewing since 1990
AHA member since 1991, now a lifetime member
BJCP judge since 1995

Offline conley

• 1st Kit
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2013, 03:04:12 pm »