Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Programmable Fermentation Chamber Thermostat  (Read 14700 times)

Offline calebw

• 1st Kit
  • Ohmbrew Automations
    • Ohmbrew Automations
Programmable Fermentation Chamber Thermostat
« on: January 26, 2013, 02:06:27 pm »
Hey all! 

I'm new to this forum, but I've been brewing beer for about 3 years now.
I am an electrical engineer and had an idea last year to design/build a programmable thermostat to control a fermentation device.  It turned out really well and I decided to give it a name, make a business around the idea (Ohmbrew Automations) and go into production with them.  Since then, I've currently built a dozen units of the 'Fermostat' and have sold them to a group of local early adopters to refine the device before I go into a larger scale production with them. 

Basically, the retail version will be a programmable, dual-stage thermostat for a fermentation device or even just controlling your kegerator/keezer.  It has the ability for the user to create and store a program (or several) that creates a temperature profile for your chamber.  This is especially useful for when fermenting a lager where you have to slowly lower the temperature after brewing to the ferment temperature, then slowly increase the temperature over time to do a diacelyl rest, then again lower the temperature to lager the brew.  With the Fermostat, you can create this program (or use one of the pre-set ones).  Running this program will take care of the whole process from start to finish without any user interaction required.