Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Anyone using a 70 quart Maxcold cube cooler for a mash tun?  (Read 3768 times)

Offline gevans73

• 1st Kit
Anyone using a 70 quart Maxcold cube cooler for a mash tun?
« on: February 07, 2013, 07:52:38 am »
Curious to know if anyone is using the 70 Quart Maxcold coolers for a mash tun.  I have a 10 gallon Igloo round I use for smaller beers, but want to make a 10 gallon batch of a big beer, (36lbs of grain).  It would work in the 70 quart, but it has a weird 45 deg shape on the back for the wheels I guess.

I have a Blichmann Top Tier system and two of their brew kettles, but not quite ready to make the jump to a SS pot and then needing to go to a rims system.  We always fly Sparge and I use a Blichmann auto Sparge system that works well. 

I am new to brewing, just since October, but do have 19 batches made since then, so I think I have a pretty good handle on things.

Thanks for the input!

Offline Jimmy K

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Delaware
Re: Anyone using a 70 quart Maxcold cube cooler for a mash tun?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2013, 08:30:26 am »
My LHBS sells them converted into mash tuns.  I have one as a cooler. I don't think the lid is insulated as well as other coolers (I suspect it isn't insulated at all).
Delmarva United Homebrewers - President by inverse coup - former president ousted himself.
AHA Member since 2006
BJCP Certified: B0958

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 11:28:18 am »
Curious to know if anyone is using the 70 Quart Maxcold coolers for a mash tun.  I have a 10 gallon Igloo round I use for smaller beers, but want to make a 10 gallon batch of a big beer, (36lbs of grain).  It would work in the 70 quart, but it has a weird 45 deg shape on the back for the wheels I guess.