Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: BOTTLES, BOTTLES, BOTTLES  (Read 4001 times)

Offline nicomiranda

• 1st Kit
BOTTLES, BOTTLES, BOTTLES
« on: February 20, 2013, 12:54:11 pm »
Good day ladies and gents,

I live in Miami, FL.  I was wondering if anyone knew of a good place to get some bottles.  Or if you know of a good website please let me know.

Thank you for any information.

Nico Miranda  8)

Offline jiggs26.2

• Cellarman
  • Black Hills, South Dakota
Re: BOTTLES, BOTTLES, BOTTLES
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2013, 12:57:39 pm »
If you don't mind taking labels off of them then have your friends save them for you.  If not any local home brew store should sell them.
AHA Lifetime Member

Primary:
Secondary:
Bottle/Keg: Holiday Chocolate Stout, Nelson Sauvin IPA, Brew Dog Punk IPA Clone, Apricot Pale Ale, Wizenbock

Offline the_pig

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2013, 01:23:04 pm »
I started brewing 10 gal. batches, built up a big back log of beer, and ran out of bottles.  So I started scavenging on recycling day on my way into work.  I have identified several source houses.  It's amazing how consistent people are - some people never drink, some others always drink wine, beer in cans, or screw tops.  And there are some households that put out a couple of six packs of pry-off bottles every week.  (A subset of these include smokers who drop butts in their empties, etc. but you learn to avoid those houses quickly.)

Obviously, you need to give them a good rinse and a soak in PBW.  But they clean up just fine.  (Soaking in a bucket of warm water with a little amonia takes most labels off easily.)

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2013, 02:25:19 pm »