Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Goose Breast Prosciutto  (Read 6787 times)

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
Goose Breast Prosciutto
« on: January 10, 2013, 10:07:42 am »
Anyone made Ruhlman's Duck Breast Prosciutto recipe or any other dried/cured meat product?
I'm trying 8 goose breasts but I need some advice on drying temps.  I did a 36 hr salt cure on 1/2 and 48 hr on the larger ones and now they are in my cold garage hanging in cheese cloth.  I weighed them all and we'll see how long it takes to get down by 30%.  I don't have his book yet so these directions came from his internet site. Given that goose breasts are a bit bigger than duck, I went for longer salt times and the larger ones still felt pretty soft after 36 so that's why I went for 48. 
This is my first attempt so who knows how they will turn out so if anyone has tried this sort of thing, give my your advice.
Thanks

Offline 1vertical

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Ozone Layer. Actual location
Re: Goose Breast Prosciutto
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 11:09:57 pm »
Gee I wish I had ONE goose breast!!

Howd they turn out??
A fine is a tax for doing wrong. A tax is a fine for doing well.

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 07:32:49 pm »
More like goose jerky. Not enough fat on wild goose I guess. Plus I left them to dry too long. Not sure what I will do with them.

Offline 1vertical

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Ozone Layer. Actual location
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 10:52:26 pm »
I had a friend that made a sandwich spread out of such meats,
if i recall it was sage chicken which are tough as a boot and
that was very good spread/pate.
A fine is a tax for doing wrong. A tax is a fine for doing well.

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2013, 08:04:01 am »