Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Absolute NEWB with a question  (Read 4291 times)

Offline lewisb13

• 1st Kit
Absolute NEWB with a question
« on: February 24, 2013, 04:06:22 pm »
First of all, hello! My name is brad. I have been brewing for many years but have mostly stuck to the kit stuff. I recently moved into the boiled kits to hopefully some day make recipes from complete scratch. So anyways, I have a batch of what I call "lake Houston pale ale" because its literally made from the water from the lake.
My question is I'm trying not to force carbonate the beer in my corny this time, I'm trying to add about 1/3 cup priming sugar to the batch and let it carbonate naturally. I put about 5psi on the corny to help with the seal. Should I just let it sit for two weeks no matter what the internal pressure ends up being or do I need to keep relieving the pressure down to 5psi? What's a safe pressure level? Obviously since I put some sugar in there the pressure keeps rising. Thanks for everyone's help WAY in advance. Cheers

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
Re: Absolute NEWB with a question
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 04:54:38 pm »
You have to leave the pressure so that the beer carbonates. Otherwise, it's just gonna ferment out and be flat. So, don't vent.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2013, 05:13:41 pm »
Most cornies can take around 135 psi. so you don't need to worry about too much pressure for the keg.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline lewisb13

• 1st Kit