Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Steeping vs.Mini Mash  (Read 6575 times)

Offline dbagnall

• 1st Kit
Steeping vs.Mini Mash
« on: February 24, 2013, 11:08:22 am »
I am new to brewing (I have produced three batches, all using liquid extract and steeping grains, and I am doing full boils now). I am researching brewing methods using more grain. I don't feel I can afford to purchase the all-grain equipment right now but I have noticed there is a technique called mini-mash brewing. In terms of results (efficiency, taste, quality of beer ect) is Mini-mash all that different than steeping? Is it worth experimenting with mini-mash when I am already steeping and will probably get into all grain system by the end of the year?

Thank you for your advise and opinions!

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
Re: Steeping vs.Mini Mash
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 11:35:59 am »
I am new to brewing (I have produced three batches, all using liquid extract and steeping grains, and I am doing full boils now). I am researching brewing methods using more grain. I don't feel I can afford to purchase the all-grain equipment right now but I have noticed there is a technique called mini-mash brewing. In terms of results (efficiency, taste, quality of beer ect) is Mini-mash all that different than steeping? Is it worth experimenting with mini-mash when I am already steeping and will probably get into all grain system by the end of the year?

Thank you for your advise and opinions!

The advantage of mini-mash (aka partial mash) over steeping is that you're actually doing a true mash that converts starches to sugars.  Because of that, you can partial mash grains that you wouldn't be able to with just steeping.  Plus, it's a warm up to full all grain brewing.
Joe

Offline dbagnall

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2013, 01:42:22 pm »
So does steeping only add color but not fermentable sugars?