Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: I need a palate  (Read 1952 times)

Offline topher.bartos

• Cellarman
  • Sometimes Messy, Mostly Successful, Always Fun!
I need a palate
« on: March 01, 2013, 07:10:50 pm »
My palate needs prepping before I can taste any subtle flavors in beer. I'm not a BJCP judge so I'm not trained in beer flavors and off-flavors, etc.

I know what good beer tastes like, but only when I prep my palate with a wide range of tastes (or beers), is when I can really taste the subtle nuances of beer.

I've been brewing since 2005 and I just started doing all-grain a few months ago and now I'm absolutely obsessed. I just submitted a beer in the NHC for the first time. This will be my very first beer competition. I think I make really good beer for a brand new all-grain brewer. I don't have a lot of control over my fermentation process. I still don't have a good aerator, I don't have a stir plate, I don't have a good way of controlling temperature (YET), but I still make pretty good beer.

Even typing that makes me think that's far-fetched. So, I need a palate. I need somebody to judge my beers and tell me what is wrong with it. I want to become a better brewer. I want to become the best brewer.

Please help a homebrewer out!

In the works: Nothing

Primary #1: Nothing

Primary #2: Nothing

Keg: Cascade & Mosaic Session IPA

Offline paul

• Cellarman
Re: I need a palate
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 07:46:42 pm »
I'm not entirely sure what your question is...is it about getting better at brewing, at judging your own beers, or judging beers in general?  I suppose they're all related.

It can be very helpful to join your local homebrew club.  You'll find people there who are more than happy to drink and judge your beer.  Some of them even know what they're talking about  ::)