Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Advice on teaching someone to brew.  (Read 2031 times)

Offline bigchicken

• Assistant Brewer
  • Lincoln, NE
Advice on teaching someone to brew.
« on: March 13, 2013, 11:38:35 am »
This weekend I'll be helping someone brew a 5 gallon extract batch for the first time. They've never watched a brew session either. They jumped in and bought a good equipment kit and they're super excited to get started. Any advice of how I should help him during the process? I'm self taught and would not necessarily want him to struggle like I did at first, but I don't want to take away from the self learning process either. Any advice you can give will be appreciated.
TJ Cook

On Deck: Planning
Fermenting: Nothing
In bottles: It's All About MEAD!

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Advice on teaching someone to brew.
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 11:45:01 am »
I think it's really going to be up to him in terms of how much up front help he wants.

I recently tought a friend to brew and I asked him how he wanted to go about it.

So we started with a session just talking over the basic process and all the things to watch out for that I have come across so far. Then he asked questions and I attempted to give good answers.

then he built the recipe (he is a bit of a DIYer but a kit removes this step) and asked questions about this as he did. I looked over the recipe as he finished and asked if he wanted critique he did so we went over what I thought of the recipe. In this step it's important to remember that it's his beer and your advice should be couched in a 'This is what I would do because x...' format. Let him decide on his own if he wants to do it.

Then the brew day and I just hung out with him. helped lift heavy things and kept an eye on the brew day as it progressed so I could catch steps he might have missed.