Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: "Twanginess" aftertaste to my Pale Ale  (Read 10990 times)

Offline brianselvy

• 1st Kit
  • Oro Valley, AZ
"Twanginess" aftertaste to my Pale Ale
« on: March 21, 2013, 12:57:00 pm »
I'm relatively new to homebrewing (currently on my 4th batch) and have noticed a peculiar aftertaste in some of my beers.  The first time I brewed a 5 gallon batch, I brewed a malt extract/specialty grain recipe from my local homebrew store with the following ingredients:

6 lbs Light Dry Malt Extract
.50 lbs 80L Crystal Malt Extract
.75 lbs Aromatic (Grain)
1 oz Perle Hops (Bittering)
1 oz Willamette Hops (Bittering)
1 oz Fuggle Hops (Flavor)
1 oz Cascade Hops (Flavor)
1 vial of WLP001 California Ale Yeast

I started with 3 gallons of water (Arrowhead Mountain Spring Water) in my pot. The specialty grains were steeped for 30 mins at 155°F (I was turning the stove on/off to keep this temp relatively close...it did briefly get up above 170°F for a brief amount of time, which I've read elsewhere is the temperature at which various other off-flavors can get extracted from the specialty grain).  After the malt was added, I added the Willamette hops.  30 mins later I added the Fuggle, and then 15 mins later I added the Cascade and allowed it to boil for another 15 mins.  I then took the wort and added it to 2.5 gallons of cold water in my fermenter.  I then covered this fermenter (with air lock) and put it in an ice batch (I currently don't have a wort chiller).  My sink isn't very deep, so the ice batch wasn't very effective.  At this same time I took the yeast out of the fridge to let it activate (the vial instructions said to let it sit out for 3-6 hours).  Well, it ended up taking about 10 hours for the wort to cool down to 75°F.