Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Hop Temp Question  (Read 2326 times)

Offline chadchaney97

• Cellarman
Hop Temp Question
« on: April 04, 2013, 09:00:38 am »
Making my last IPA, I wanted to chill to about 175 and then do a hop stand, but thanks to my kiddos by the time I got back to chill it was 120ish.  I tossed the hops in anyway, any idea how this will affect the beer?

Offline hmbrewing

• Cellarman
Re: Hop Temp Question
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 10:10:07 am »
I'm by no means an expert - but, my understanding based on what I've read is that you obtain your bitterness from the boil. So, you are most likely going to get some nice hop aroma and flavor but no bitterness.
I brew beer, I drink beer...it really is that simple

narvin

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 10:50:24 am »
You probably got less aroma from them at the lower temperature.  Not sure how much, though... probably somewhere between an hour-long hop stand @175 and an hour of dry hopping at room temp.  ;)

Offline mmitchem

• Brewer
  • Suffolk, VA
    • http://www.barfclub.org
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2013, 10:53:04 am »
Too low of a temp for isomerization to really come into play, but you will still get some aroma and flavor out of that. Tell us how it turns out :)
Michael P Mitchem
Beer and Ale Research Foundation (B.A.R.F.)
AHA Member since 2011

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2013, 10:57:26 am »
I'm by no means an expert - but, my understanding based on what I've read is that you obtain your bitterness from the boil. So, you are most likely going to get some nice hop aroma and flavor but no bitterness.