Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Drunkey Monkey  (Read 7000 times)

Offline btrammel

• 1st Kit
Drunkey Monkey
« on: March 26, 2013, 11:17:56 pm »
Hi all - I'm new to the board.  I'm still new to home brewing and only have one batch under my belt (2 more on their way!) I'm brewing my first 2 from kits, my third will be my first recipe. It's between a honey hefey or this, a banana wheat. I've built it in BeerSmith2. Please let me know what you think - I'm in need of help!

DRUNKEY MONKEY

INGREDIENTS
3 lbs - Extra Light DME
3 lbs - Wheat LME
1 lb - Carapils
2 oz - Hallertauer (60 min)
A few cinnamon sticks (flame out or final 5?)
Orange peel (5 oranges - flame out or final 5?)
WL3068 (weizen liquid yeast from Wyeast)

Planning to add bananas, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to secondary.

TARGET STATS (before secondary additions)
OG - 1.049
FG - 1.012
IBU - 22
SRM - 5.7
ABV - 4.8%

Have at it - please!

cornershot

Re: Drunkey Monkey
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 06:32:53 am »
Wow! Good luck on that one!

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Drunkey Monkey
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 06:57:06 am »
You don't need the carpils. Carpils is for adding dextrines and body and extract beers usually suffer from an over abundance of dextrines and body. Other than that you malt profile looks fine.

The other additions: Personally, I prefer beer flavored beer and you have a little too much going on there for my tastes but then again I remember when I first got into home brewing and all the crazy ideas I had so I can't fault you too much. ;) brew this one and then try your hand mastering a simple pale ale.

Offline btrammel

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2013, 11:43:02 am »
ummm ... thanks, zimaclone?  lol