Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Messin Wit Beer  (Read 2296 times)

hschofi

Messin Wit Beer
« on: March 29, 2013, 09:17:39 am »
So I am a novice at home brewing and one my 4th batch. I have a Chai Honey Ale that i racked to secondary after 8 days in primary, and added added turbinado sugar and more honey to it and BOOM i go a second fermentation rolling for the last 3 days now... Im sure someone has done this already! Wondering what i can expect from this beer now?

Mind you I am very new, learning and reading and also experimenting with ideas..

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Messin Wit Beer
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2013, 09:20:31 am »
If you add more sugar it will ferment more. There are ways around this if you are kegging. if you are bottling there is not much you can do.

It will not hurt the beer. Ideally you would have skipped the secondary but that's probably okay. there was still plenty of yeast in the beer, obviously.

I actually did this on my last big barley wine. I added 3 lb of maple syrup about 5 days into fermentation and BOOM.  worked really well. It's called incremental feeding and is supposed to help reduce stress on the yeast in big high gravity fermentations.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

hschofi

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 09:58:19 am »
Cool... Well since I am new I followed the 1.2.3 rule of primary secondary then bottle.. But right after I racked I read that most people skip this and jus leave it primary till bottling or keging... Im not at the keg level yet!

Im gonna let it sit for about 3 weeks then cold crash it and bottle.. Unless it clears up enough that I dont have to cold crash it..

Im hoping this will give it more honey and caramel flavor..

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT