Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: My "house" bug is taking over! Sanitation help needed  (Read 3958 times)

Offline nateo

• Brewmaster General
My "house" bug is taking over! Sanitation help needed
« on: April 08, 2013, 11:06:47 am »
Hey folks,
I've been cultivating a "house" sour bug mix for just about two years now. It's cultured from grain, so it's probably a mix of lacto and other stuff. Anyway, I've maintained separate plastic goods (tubing, racking, bottling, etc.) but my last couple clean beers got infected. I guess the house culture is airborne? I'm not really sure how they got infected.

My main concern is how do I get rid of the bug in my brew buckets? I'd rather not buy new buckets. In the past I've used a vinegar/bleach mixed that seemed to work OK. I've thought about doing a concentrated PBW soak too. Starsan is worthless against these creatures.

Any ideas?
In der Kürze liegt die Würze.

Offline BrewArk

• Brewmaster
  • Rick - Newark, California
    • BrewArk
Re: My "house" bug is taking over! Sanitation help needed
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2013, 11:13:37 am »
Hey folks,
I've been cultivating a "house" sour bug mix for just about two years now. It's cultured from grain, so it's probably a mix of lacto and other stuff. Anyway, I've maintained separate plastic goods (tubing, racking, bottling, etc.) but my last couple clean beers got infected. I guess the house culture is airborne? I'm not really sure how they got infected.

My main concern is how do I get rid of the bug in my brew buckets? I'd rather not buy new buckets. In the past I've used a vinegar/bleach mixed that seemed to work OK. I've thought about doing a concentrated PBW soak too. Starsan is worthless against these creatures.

Any ideas?