Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wheat malt...poor extraction  (Read 4956 times)

Offline roguejim

• Brewer
Wheat malt...poor extraction
« on: July 06, 2013, 12:16:51 pm »
I just started brewing a hefe, not a style I normally brew.  The last time my BG was way off on the low side.  I attributed it to not getting a good crush on the wheat malt.  So, today I double-crushed the wheat malt.  The BG was still low by 8 points.  I used 6.25 lbs wheat, 6 lbs pils, and 1 lb rice hulls.  Single infusion mash.  Aside from increasing the grain bill next time to make up for the loss in efficiency, is there something I'm missing?  Is there a better "cure" for this anomaly?  Thanks.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Wheat malt...poor extraction
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2013, 12:48:39 pm »
Ot could be that the number you're using for the potential extract of the wheat malt is higher than the malt really is.  Just a WAG.....what potential are you using?
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline roguejim

• Brewer
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2013, 08:59:22 pm »
Ot could be that the number you're using for the potential extract of the wheat malt is higher than the malt really is.  Just a WAG.....what potential are you using?

uh...whatever Promash uses under German wheat malt.  I'm using Bestmalz.

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2013, 07:29:55 am »
The mill might not be tight enough.  Try a triple crush!?!?1
Dave