Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: FIRST all-grain: Apricot Ale  (Read 8116 times)

Offline btrammel

• 1st Kit
FIRST all-grain: Apricot Ale
« on: May 01, 2013, 09:42:59 pm »
Hi folks!  So - I started brewing a couple months back and now have 3 recipes/batches under my belt: Midwest's Smooth Nut Brown and their Liberty Cream Ale, and my own extract recipe, a honey wheat.  They've all turned out great (with rave reviews!) so  I've decided it's time to go ahead and try my hand at all-grain.  I went ahead and purchased the full copy of BeerSmith 2 and have designed my first recipe, an apricot ale.  I wanted something similar to Pyramid's apricot ale.  I've done research and have gathered quite a bit of info about their recipe and have come up with my own "clone", although it won't be exact.  I've put my own spin on it to make it my own.  Please review this recipe, keeping in mind that this will be a BIAB (brew in a bag) batch in a 5.25 gallon pot.  Please critique both the method involved and recipe (both noted).  One big question I had is this - is it necessary to mash out with BIAB, or can I just fly sparge with the remaining amount of water?  And do I need to test ph levels to confirm saccharification?

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 4.08 gal
Post Boil Volume: 3.33 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal   
Bottling Volume: 4.78 gal
Estimated OG: 1.046 SG
Estimated Color: 4.4 SRM
Estimated IBU: 26.2 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 72.8 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
4 lbs                  Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM)        Grain         1        45.7 %       
4 lbs                  White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM)             Grain         2        45.7 %