Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: CLOUDY Weizen  (Read 3998 times)

Offline khillje

• Assistant Brewer
    • Twitter
CLOUDY Weizen
« on: May 03, 2013, 09:39:51 am »
So I brewed this hefe and fermented it with some strawberries.  I've never used this yeast strain before (Bavarian Weizen - WLP351).  I did notice in the starter that this yeast looked "clumpier" than any other I've used before.  Now obviously hefes are supposed to be cloudy, but this one came out pretty dense.  Tastes fine once the sulfur cleared out, but is this normal?

Photo might not give it justice:

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: CLOUDY Weizen
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2013, 10:43:48 am »
How did you handle the berries? If you heated them prior to adding them to the fermenter it could be pectin haze.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline redbeerman

• Senior Brewmaster
  • On the banks of the mighty Susquehanna in MD
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2013, 11:07:36 am »
Bavarian Weizen yeasts do not flocculate very well and hence give the characteristic (for style) cloudiness.  Along with clove and banana esters.  And they can be quite dense when fresh.
CH3CH2OH - Without it, life itself would be impossible.

[441, 112.1deg] AR

Jim

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Play Nice
    • Harvey's Brewhaus
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2013, 11:16:32 am »
Bavarian Weizen yeasts do not flocculate very well and hence give the characteristic (for style) cloudiness.  Along with clove and banana esters.  And they can be quite dense when fresh.
+1 but this looks like a malt milk shake! maybe its the grainy picture :o
Ken- Chagrin Falls, OH
CPT, U.S.Army
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Harveys-Brewhaus/405092862905115

http://braukaiser.com/wiki/index.php?title=The_Science_of_Mashing

Serving:        In Process: