Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Newbie Here  (Read 13166 times)

Offline shane70

• 1st Kit
Re: Newbie Here
« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2013, 06:46:04 pm »
so keep my temp in the upper 60's?  ???

Offline dzlater

• Brewmaster
  • Dan S. New Jersey
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2013, 05:31:20 am »
Look at the packet of yeast, what type is it?
Does it say to pitch and or ferment at a certain temp?
Dan S. from NJ

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2013, 06:45:31 am »
If you want to use the dorm fridge to control your temps most folks use something like this: http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/johnson-controls-a419-digital-temp-controller.html

I have the Ranco 111000 (digital) and may use temp controllers for Johnson Controls (often analogue).

They are snap to use if you buy them prewired.  If you are handy with a screw driver and not scarred off by electricity, they are cheaper as controller only and you wire them in yourself.

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline flbrewer

• Brewmaster General
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2013, 06:50:29 am »
If you end up needing to ferment mostly ales (~mid 60's) and are having trouble with either the cost or size of a refrigerator or mini cooler that will fit your carboy or bucket, I highly recommend the below Igloo cooler for fermentation. I was able to keep my wheat ale right at 65 for 2 weeks with very minimal tweaking (adding ice cubes periodically). Good luck!
http://www.igloo-store.com/detail/IGL+ICECUBE+70+MCROL

Offline HydraulicSammich

• Assistant Brewer
  • Logan, UT
« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2013, 07:49:04 am »