Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Post fermentation bitterness adjustment  (Read 1794 times)

cornershot

Post fermentation bitterness adjustment
« on: December 30, 2013, 04:48:57 am »
Is there a good way to add bitterness to a beer post fermentation? I have a syringe of hop extract but I've never used it before. Can I use it as is or must it be boiled first? Can I boil hops in plain water and add it that way?

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Post fermentation bitterness adjustment
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2013, 07:00:41 am »
I have tried boiling hops in water and adding the resulting tea to a keg.  That made the beer very grassy. I do not recommend.

Offline wingnut

• Brewer
  • Plainwell MI
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2013, 07:45:21 am »
I have  considered adding a dose of "hop shot"... essentially pre-isomerized hop extract.  You can get it from Northern Brewer in a small syringe dispensing tool. 

My thought was to add the extract to some hot water to dissolve and then add to the final beer.  It would add some hop flavor and bitterness.  Because it is processed differently than a tea, it would not have the grassy flavors of boiling whole hops.  Also, because the alpha acids are isomerized, they will dissolve in the beer, unlike the hop tea technique.  (so it is more like the hop bitterness/flavor you get from kettle hops instead of dry hops)

I have the vial in my fridge, but have been fortunate that my beers appear to be dialed in now, so I have not tried out the theory.  :D

The vial has marking on it, so you can dispense fractional portions of the tube with good precision.