Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Newbie Here  (Read 13221 times)

Offline shane70

• 1st Kit
Newbie Here
« on: May 17, 2013, 02:49:05 pm »
Hi,
My Name is Shane. I recently purchased the Brewer's Best , Beer Brewing Equipment Kit. I have been wanting to try home brewing for some time now. The only thing that has been holding me back is my taste in beer. I'm picky.... My favorite beer is Miller Genuine Draft in the bottle. I have yet to find a dark beer that I like at all and from what I've seen, home brew is mostly dark beer. Recently I decided to give it a try. With the purchase of the Kit, I also purchased the Continental Pilsner  Kit (I was told it was a light golden beer), a 5 gallon glass Carboy for a second fermentation.
I have seen the YouTube video's on how to get started and what to do, Plus the kit comes with a to do list. My question is, I cannot find anything on line about the Brewer's Best Continental Pilsner kit, so I'm wondering if its any good. I've been told the kit might be a bit hard for a beginner. Plus, what other brands should I try (Keeping in mind I want to get as close to the taste of Miller Genuine Draft.

Thanks for your help.

Shane
« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 03:40:20 pm by shane70 »

Offline theDarkSide

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Derry, NH
Re: Newbie Here
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 02:53:51 pm »
and from what I've seen, home brew is mostly dark beer.

Boy, are you in for a surprise.  Some of my favorite beers are so light and clear, you can read through them (Munich Helles, Pilsner, even a pale ale ).

Also, don't write off dark beers totally.  Maybe what you don't like is roastiness, but there are tons of dark beers that don't emphasize that.

Also, be aware with a pilsner kit, you'll need someway to control fermentation temperature at a low level ( 50-55F). 

Welcome to your new obsession.
Seacoast Homebrew Club - Portsmouth, NH
AHA Member