Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Straining your wort  (Read 14909 times)

Offline pl8wrench

• 1st Kit
Straining your wort
« on: June 05, 2013, 06:47:18 am »
hi everyone, i am wondering should you strain your wort? some people i see do it. other say not to. i am new to the home brewing and have created my first home brew a simple red ale. any feed back would be good and helpful.

thank you guys in advance 8)

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Re: Straining your wort
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 08:05:10 am »
Welcome.

I think that the answer is "it depends."  Some people strain, some people don't.  I used to, but rarely do these days primarily as a time saver (it's not that much time, but every bit helps).

Straining will keep a lot of hop matter and other stuff out of your fermenter, but pretty much all of that will settle out anyway.

Straining the wort won't cause any problems so if you're inclined to do it, go right ahead.
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

Offline gymrat

• Brewmaster
  • Ralph's Brewery
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2013, 08:17:52 am »
I kept getting clogged bottling wands and finding hop matter in my beers until I got one of these.

As an added bonus it helps oxygenate my wort.
Ralph's Brewery
Topeka, KS

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Straining your wort
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2013, 08:17:55 am »
The only potential problem is you will raise the potential of contamination depending on your method.

Offline Joe Sr.

• Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2013, 08:21:09 am »
I use bags for my grains and for my hop additions so I don't get near the amount of gunk that Gymrat is collecting.
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

Offline pl8wrench

• 1st Kit
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2013, 08:46:58 am »