Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Orange Hefe?  (Read 8881 times)

Offline paulaner

• 1st Kit
Orange Hefe?
« on: June 11, 2013, 02:21:53 pm »
I'm looking for a good recipe for a hefeweizen with a distinct orange taste. I know this is one of the least popular homebrews but I really want to make a refreshing summer beer that I can enjoy with my friends. I tried a homebrewed hefe that my friend made from extract but it tasted rather plain. I'm wondering if I can add orange peals, or even a natural orange extract, to give it more flavor. If so, when would be best to make these additions and how much?

BTW, this will be my 3rd batch, so I'm still fairly new to this. Thanks!

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Orange Hefe?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 02:40:14 pm »
If you want a distinctly ORANGE taste you will indeed likely have to use flavourings. pretty sure that's how they make 'shock-top'. However there are hops that can give you a citrus note. You could try orange peel but I am not sure that's going to get you what you want either.

I would brew a nice simple hefe with 40% pils extract 60% wheat extract, bitter with something neutral or something noble. for the yeast you can use a german hefe yeast to get the banana/close thing going to some extent or use an American wheat yeast (or plain old dry us-05) to get a neutral flavor profile and then serve it with orange slices.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline hoser

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2013, 03:01:34 pm »
I would just orange zest the hell out of it at flame out.  That will definitely do the trick.  And/Or add a some corriander to it, i.e. Belgian White minus the Belgian yeast and chamomille.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer