Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: using half of a white labs vial  (Read 8251 times)

Offline landsrud

• 1st Kit
using half of a white labs vial
« on: June 16, 2013, 05:36:27 pm »
Hello everyone,

I'm making a 2.5 gallon batch and have a white labs vial. I'm half inclined to just pitch the entire vial anyway (though I've read most suggest doing a starter instead of straight pitching a vial but that's another story) but I pitched half. I closed up the vial and put the remainder back in the fridge. I'm new to yeast, but would like to start mixing and keeping strands alive/dormant - previously only used dry yeast packets.

1. Did I just waste what was left?

2. Will it just hang out until the expiration date or now that freshness seal is broken it will never be the same? What will happen to it?

3. What else can I do with it? 
-----------------------------------
in the primary:
:(

in the secondary:

conditioning:
Westvleteren quadrupel clone (2.5 gal)
http://beerrecipes.org/showrecipe.php?recipeid=1241

in bottles:
Imperial Stout

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: using half of a white labs vial
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2013, 05:56:36 pm »
I would give it no more than a week personally

I would have just pitched the whole vial. If it was just today I would go ahead and pitch the rest. Then you can call your 2.5 gal batch a starter for the next brew.

Offline Jimmy K

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Delaware
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2013, 06:28:48 pm »
You could make a 1L starter and add it. Let it ferment and stick that in the fridge when done. That would keep it healthy.  Might be fine as is, not sure about that.
Delmarva United Homebrewers - President by inverse coup - former president ousted himself.
AHA Member since 2006
BJCP Certified: B0958

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.