Author Topic: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller  (Read 3624 times)

Online guido

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« on: June 22, 2013, 05:03:04 PM »
OK  The instructions seem easy enough.  I'm using a Ranco 2-Stage Temp Controller on a commercial 2-door lab fridge, which I'm trying to use as a fermenter.  The thing just stares at me.  I'm trying to cool to 65F and the ambient temp is 77F.  Everything seems plugged in the right way.  The fridge works.  Any suggestions.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

     -"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Offline klickitat jim

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2618
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2013, 06:48:01 PM »
Hmmm wish I was there to see it. Are you sure you have fridge plugged into the correct stage?

Online guido

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2013, 07:55:48 PM »
Hmmm wish I was there to see it. Are you sure you have fridge plugged into the correct stage?

Yep, fridge is plugged into the S1 outlet and set up as C1 for cooling.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

     -"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Offline klickitat jim

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2618
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2013, 07:57:51 PM »
I wonder if they got the labels wrong. Maybe try swapping them.

Offline Pinski

  • Senior Brewmaster
  • ******
  • Posts: 1554
  • Portland, Oregon
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2013, 10:10:16 PM »
What do you have the differential set at?
Does the temperature display show 77  or is that from another thermometer?
Do you have the heat stage set at a temperature well below the cooling stage so that you dont have a conflict?
Thank you BEER!

Online guido

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2013, 02:11:06 AM »
I wonder if they got the labels wrong. Maybe try swapping them.

Tried switching
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

     -"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Online guido

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2013, 02:15:42 AM »
What do you have the differential set at?
Does the temperature display show 77  or is that from another thermometer?
Do you have the heat stage set at a temperature well below the cooling stage so that you dont have a conflict?

The 77F is in the display.  I assume it's the ambient temp.  I have the temp probe inside the fridge, in an empty White Labs tube that's filled with water.   I have the cooling set for 65F with a 3 degree differential, and the heating is set for 55F with a 3 degree differential.  There shouldn't be any overlap.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

     -"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Offline klickitat jim

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2618
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2013, 02:16:41 AM »
It's either programmed wrong, broken, or the fridge is broken.

Plug a lamp into it. Good bulb and turned on. See if it turns the bulb on when it should be turning the fridge on
« Last Edit: June 23, 2013, 02:20:32 AM by klickitat jim »

Offline klickitat jim

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2618
    • View Profile
Re: Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2013, 02:23:31 AM »
What do you have the differential set at?
Does the temperature display show 77  or is that from another thermometer?
Do you have the heat stage set at a temperature well below the cooling stage so that you dont have a conflict?

The 77F is in the display.  I assume it's the ambient temp.  I have the temp probe inside the fridge, in an empty White Labs tube that's filled with water.   I have the cooling set for 65F with a 3 degree differential, and the heating is set for 55F with a 3 degree differential.  There shouldn't be any overlap.

I don't think you want the probe wet.

I set mine with both heat and cool at 65 with 2° diff. If it's warm out I just unplug my heat source

Online guido

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2013, 02:37:02 AM »
It's either programmed wrong, broken, or the fridge is broken.

Plug a lamp into it. Good bulb and turned on. See if it turns the bulb on when it should be turning the fridge on

I tried taking the probe out of the water.  The fridge starts right up when it's plugged in directly.  Even though I didn't get it from MoreBeer (got it online from ETC), some reviewers on MoreBeer said their units had a software issue and customer service (which is closed until Monday) was able to resolve it.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

     -"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Offline klickitat jim

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2618
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2013, 02:49:43 AM »
Hopefully that solves it. This kind of stuff drives me up the wall. I hate when I get something home and it doesn't work.

Online guido

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2013, 02:53:04 AM »
Hopefully that solves it. This kind of stuff drives me up the wall. I hate when I get something home and it doesn't work.

Appreciated your ideas, though.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

     -"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Offline klickitat jim

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2618
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2013, 04:52:28 AM »
:D

Offline tschmidlin

  • I must live here
  • **********
  • Posts: 8130
  • Redmond, WA
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2013, 09:27:25 AM »
Have you tried heating the probe a lot to see if that kicks it on?  Hot water for example?  You could try it in ice water too, see if that does anything.
Tom Schmidlin

Online guido

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: How to use a Ranco 2-stage Temp Controller
« Reply #14 on: June 24, 2013, 02:10:30 AM »
Have you tried heating the probe a lot to see if that kicks it on?  Hot water for example?  You could try it in ice water too, see if that does anything.

At this point, I am grasping at straws.  I think I'll have to return it for another one.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

     -"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison