Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Help with Berliner pellicle.  (Read 7517 times)

Offline rainmaker

• Cellarman
Help with Berliner pellicle.
« on: June 25, 2013, 05:18:25 pm »
Sorry for the bad photo, but I was wondering if anyone can help with this.... It's a very thin film with intermittent bubbles. My question is, what is it from, and is it safe?

Offline ccfoo242

• Brewmaster
  • I drank what? - Socrates
Re: Help with Berliner pellicle.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 08:17:42 pm »
I'll defer to others for the correct answer, but I thought the boil was supposed to kill off any bugs left in the berliner mash.
Intra cervisiam est deus.

Offline lornemagill

• Assistant Brewer
  • Austin/Round Rock, TX
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 09:20:10 pm »
I am by no means an expert but ive done a few berliners and I think that is a lacto pellicle.

Offline rainmaker

• Cellarman
Re: Re: Help with Berliner pellicle.
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2013, 04:41:58 am »
I'll defer to others for the correct answer, but I thought the boil was supposed to kill off any bugs left in the berliner mash.

After reading your posting realized I left out a very important detail. I pitched some dregs from 1809 and Cuvee Freddy to see what would happen, and racked off of the yeast after a week. Thus shot is taken 4 weeks in, and I plan to bottle this week.

Any suggestions for bottling, or just go about it like any other?
« Last Edit: June 26, 2013, 04:43:33 am by rainmaker »

Offline redbeerman

• Senior Brewmaster
  • On the banks of the mighty Susquehanna in MD
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2013, 07:46:53 am »