Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: first principles question on starters  (Read 2074 times)

Offline dertiefster

• 1st Kit
first principles question on starters
« on: August 03, 2013, 01:49:42 pm »
I would like to understand the difference (and underlying reasons for any difference) between pitching a single vial of yeast into 5.5 gallons of wort vs. taking a half-gallon of that wort and making up a starter, then pitching the yeast into the remaining wort.  I do not presently understand.  I'm a physicist and would like to be further educated in matters of brewery.

From what I have read, one might view the process as fencing off 10% of the brew volume, pitching the yeast vial into it, and then at some nebulous time later (at or after high kraeusen) removing the fence.  Somehow the confinement of the yeast (the only difference I can see) results in something different from simply pitching the yeast vial into the original wort volume.