Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brown sugar or molasses  (Read 8387 times)

Offline riceral

• Brewer
Brown sugar or molasses
« on: October 24, 2013, 08:08:40 am »
This is my first post, though I have been lurking for a while.

I started brewing back in 2000 when my wife bought me a kit for my birthday. I brewed for close to 6 years, then took some time off to work on my doctorate and have returned to brewing. Thank God someone early in my brewing recommended keeping notes!

One of the porters I brewed back in the day was a robust porter. The recipe was:
          7.0 lbs  Maris Otter
          1.0 lb   Chocolate malt
          0.5 lbs  Special B
          0.5 lbs  60L crystal
          1.0 lb   Flaked barley
          1.0 lb   Brown sugar
Hopped with Willamette to 35 IBU.

I was thinking about changing the brown sugar to molasses. I have used brown sugar and molasses in different recipes and looking at my notes, the molasses in brews other than porters seems to give a rum-like taste.

What do you think? Brown sugar or molasses?

Any and all comments and suggestions would be appreciated.

Ralph R.

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
Re: Brown sugar or molasses
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 08:21:30 am »
brown sugar = white sugar + molasses

If you want more of what molasses gives then use molasses.

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2013, 08:23:44 am »
It depends on the molasses and what flavor you like.  Personally, I don't think I'd enjoy a beer made with that much blackstrap molasses.  But the flavor of molasses would go well in a porter, so don't be afraid to use some.

Btw, welcome to the forum, or congrats on your first post, or whatever seems most appropriate ;)
Tom Schmidlin

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2013, 11:10:03 am »