Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Cool trick  (Read 4525 times)

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Cool trick
« on: July 16, 2013, 06:54:15 pm »
You can copper plate your drill stir by leaving it in starsan with your wort chiller

narvin

Re: Cool trick
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 07:33:52 pm »
Alchemy!  Or witchcraft.

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2013, 09:18:57 pm »
Why do you put your wort chiller in starsan? 

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2013, 09:34:01 pm »
I know you can boil it, but it's only an ounce of starsan, plus I use a hop spider and I'm not good at juggling 212° wet things while drinking homebrew. Plus it's the only way I know to copper plate cheap tools lol!
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 09:36:56 pm by klickitat jim »

Offline jamminbrew

• Brewmaster
  • theAntipunk
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2013, 09:49:51 pm »
Huh... That's rather cool...
In caelo cerivisiae nil, hic igitur bibimus.

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2013, 09:55:06 pm »
I know, right? I'm wondering what cool steel thing around the house needs copper plating next. By the way, it stays put. The pic is after trying to scrub it off with scotch brite

Offline james

• Brewer
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2013, 12:45:02 am »
I know you can boil it, but it's only an ounce of starsan, plus I use a hop spider and I'm not good at juggling 212° wet things while drinking homebrew. Plus it's the only way I know to copper plate cheap tools lol!

Back when I used an immersion chiller and something like a hop spider I would just put the chiller in before the 1st hop addition and leave it in the whole time

Offline redbeerman

• Senior Brewmaster
  • On the banks of the mighty Susquehanna in MD
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2013, 05:28:13 am »