Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Irish Stout too watery  (Read 3284 times)

Offline rustyl

• 1st Kit
Irish Stout too watery
« on: August 26, 2013, 06:57:04 pm »
I bottled an Irish Stout about two weeks ago and just tried one today. Terrible mouth feel. It's like water. It has good aroma and a decent flavor (maybe a little too alcohol-ish), but it's like drinking alcoholic, flavored water. What a disappointment. There's no way to save this beer, is there?

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Irish Stout too watery
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 07:13:52 pm »
How's the carbonation level? SG and FG? Care to share the recipe?

Offline rustyl

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2013, 07:22:17 pm »
I suppose a little more info would help... I'm new to homebrewing;I can only do extract with specialty grains right now, so this was a kit, Brewer's Best to be exact. I did everything I thought I was supposed to do. I steeped the grains at 150F, I was clean, I followed every step to the letter. I don't remember what the OG was. I wrote it down, but it got lost when I moved.The only thing that I didn't do was bottle it when I was supposed to. I let it sit in secondary for almost 6 months. I thought it was a lost cause when I finally bottled it so I didn't take the gravity then, but I pitched conditioning yeast at bottling time just to try it and the carbonation is fine. I'm so new to the process, I didn't expect it to work. But I was surprised with good aroma, carbonation, and flavor. It's just watery.

Offline In The Sand

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2013, 05:41:00 am »