Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: keeping fermentor cool  (Read 2437 times)

Offline cjberquist

• 1st Kit
keeping fermentor cool
« on: August 29, 2013, 04:00:24 pm »
hi guys,
im new to brewing and have my first batch started of a wheat beer.
im in the process of keeping it cool and was wondering whats the best way to check the temp of the wort and not temperature around the bucket. its in a refer at the moment but would like to keep an eye on the liquid itself instead of measuring the temp of the refer thanks guys!

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: keeping fermentor cool
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 04:16:53 pm »
So you have it in a fridge with an external temp controller?

I have not had a problem just leaving the probe in the fridge.

If I am misunderstanding and you just mean how do I monitor the wort temp, I am fond of the 2 buck stick on LCD thermostrips. surprisingly accurate and cheap
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2013, 04:18:51 pm »
+1 to thermostrips.
Jon H.

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2013, 04:24:50 pm »
Well the best way is probably using a thermowell that dips into the wort and allows a flexible thermistor to slide down inside the thermowell below the level of the wort.  Also, a sanitized thermometer would work, but I don't want that in my wort while it is fermenting.  If using a swamp cooler, I use the external water temperature and figure the beer to be anywhere from 4 - 8 degrees higher at full krausen when the yeast are chugging along.

Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline Jimmy K

• Delaware
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2013, 09:26:02 pm »