Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bottle Cleaning  (Read 3690 times)

Offline mcallijb

• 1st Kit
Bottle Cleaning
« on: September 24, 2013, 11:19:38 pm »
I'm a novice brewer on a tiny island in the Pacific.  Bottles are not easily accessible here, so I try to clean and re-use as much as possible.  I always rinse right after using, but I've got about a dozen 22's with some sediment stuck on the bottom.  I've tried soaking them in cleansers, hot water, and bleach, but they are still stubborn.  The bottle brush sucks because there are no bristles on the tip.  I've even tried using a wire clothes hanger to scrub the bottom without much success.  I've seen a few "bristle-tipped" or "cotton-tipped" brushes online, but haven't bought one yet. 

Any suggestions?

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Bottle Cleaning
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2013, 05:34:07 am »
Try a prolonged soak in PBW solution followed with a bottle brush.  Like a week in the PBW - if that doesn't work, I don't know what will!
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

cornershot

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2013, 05:55:45 am »
+1 to long pbw soak. The water jet bottle washers are a must as well. Maybe a green scrubby pad attached to the end of a rod?
This is probably already obvious to you, but in the future always rinse bottles immediately after pouring the beer.

Offline drjones

• Cellarman
  • So much to beer, so little time to brew it all...
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2013, 09:59:22 am »
Stuck out in the Pacific, I doubt PBW is available.  Can you get your hands on any oxyclean powder?  That would do the trick - use a long soak, even a couple of days to loosen up the organics, then scrub as best you can.  Anyone know if a strong baking soda solution would work in a pinch?  At least you could probably find that at a local market.
- Brian
------------------------------------------