Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Ask the Experts: Denny Conn  (Read 14914 times)

Offline duncan

• AHA / BA
  • Administrator
  • Brewer
    • HomebrewersAssociation.org
Ask the Experts: Denny Conn
« on: March 15, 2013, 12:17:12 pm »
Denny Conn has been homebrewing for more than 14 years in the foothills of the Coast Range Mountains in Oregon. He is an audio engineer by trade, but that’s just to finance the brewing. Denny did about six extract batches before switching to all-grain and discovering the “Cheap’n’Easy” batch sparge brewing technique. He’s a BJCP National Judge and his Rye IPA recipe has been brewed both by Rogue Ales in the U.S. and Olfabrikken in Denmark. He also has written articles for brewing magazines, is a frequent contributor to many internet beer discussion forums and was a speaker at the 2008 and 2010 AHA conferences. He’s the Tech Tsar of the Cascade Brewers Society, based in Eugene, Ore.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2013, 12:29:16 pm by duncan »
American Homebrewers Association / Brewers Association

Offline duncan

• AHA / BA
  • Administrator
  • Brewer
Re: Ask the Experts: Denny Conn
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 12:21:00 pm »
Question:
I know I have seen a few threads on this question - "do you do multiple batch sparges if you have so much grain that the mash tun can't fit the extra water?" (Generally, the answer is yes). But what if your mash tun allows for a lot more water? Are you hurt by not measuring the water added after the first mash (at say, initially 1.5 quarts per pound of grain and adding upwards of one-half the total liquid to be collected) and then running it off in uneven batches with the first run off greater than the second? Are there any potential problems with that? (I don't have sight gauges and would prefer not having to measure my hot liquor additions - although I may just get a stick and make marks on it for my various vessels if necessary).

Denny answers: