Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Off flavors in La Petite Orange?  (Read 4570 times)

Offline apple

• Cellarman
  • Converting grains to good times, one mug at a time
Off flavors in La Petite Orange?
« on: October 13, 2013, 11:33:10 am »
I've just finished fermenting a 5 gallon extract batch of La Petite Orange from Northern Brewer.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/le-petite-orange-limited-edition-extract-kit-w-specialty-grains.html

I went with the recommended smack pack of yeast Wyeast 1214 Belgian Abbey Ale which I have never used before. Did a 1 liter starter for about 48 hours before. Crashed and decanted before pitching.

This is the first batch of my seven that has had an odd flavor. I typically taste my specific gravity sample at each transfer. It tasted great on brew day and going into the secondary. When I transferred to my corny keg a week ago it had an aroma that I can't quite place.

To my untrained pallet the beer flavor is very nice and what I would expect, but the aroma has a "plastic" smell. When I transferred it to the keg it reminded me of the smell of my vinyl hose blow off tube. After a week in the keg carbonating it seems like it might be a bit more of a yeast smell.

Any ideas what it might be? If it's yeast will it go away over time? My final gravity was 1.009, so I think the yeast is probably done. Obviously I'd like to know if I did something wrong and how to fix it. One thought might be that I got some contamination in the secondary. I'm not familiar with what kind of flavors might be produced from that.

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Off flavors in La Petite Orange?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2013, 02:29:08 pm »
Phenols would produce a plastic taste/aroma but if this is the first batch that's had it it could be something different in your process. First guess would normally be chlorine in your water but there are other causes as well.