Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Blow out plus removed lid  (Read 7700 times)

Offline newbrewe9

• 1st Kit
  • need help on first brew
Blow out plus removed lid
« on: October 15, 2013, 05:54:05 am »
I'm new to homebrewing and made my first batch on Saturday woke up Sunday and it was looking good. Few hrs later hD blow out took airlock off to fixed then like a dummp took lid off have I destroyed my first of many batches I'm so angry right now I just wanna throw it out and start again Saturday....HELP anyone
Eddie NewBrewer9 Johnson

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Blow out plus removed lid
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 06:10:12 am »
Relax.  Your beer will likely be just fine.  Look into keeping the temps down during fermentation by using a tub of water and a cotton shirt or towel.  For what it's worth there are breweries that use open fermenters intentionally, but you risk contamination by prolonged exposure of that sort.
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline garc_mall

• Brewmaster
  • [1892.9, 294.9deg] AR Lynnwood, WA
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 07:11:44 am »
You also may want to look into getting a blowoff tube for your fermenter for the first few days. I don't know how big the bucket you are fermenting in is, but get a 3-4 foot long tube that will fit in the grommet, and run it into a bucket of sanitizer.

Your beer will be fine, and RDWHAHB or Commercial brew in your case. :)

Offline newbrewe9

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2013, 07:17:56 am »
Its Deluxe Brew kits...and I will keep that in mind when I go back this weekend to get my next beer kit
Eddie NewBrewer9 Johnson

Offline jeffy

• Tampa, Fl
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2013, 07:45:53 am »