Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Directly heating Erlenmeyer flasks  (Read 30274 times)

Offline rjharper

• Brewmaster
    • Angry Scotsman Brewing
Re: Directly heating Erlenmeyer flasks
« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2013, 04:52:09 pm »
To add to the great advice so far, as a former lab chemist, I'd use a Pyrex flask on a gas stove or ceramic top electric, but certainly not on a coil, for the hot spot reasons mentioned. It won't work on an induction top, because that requires cookware with ferromagnetic properties.

All that said though, every time I've tried to use the erlenmeyer directly, I've had awful boil overs!  :o

Offline oldmankaufman

• 1st Kit
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2013, 08:20:21 pm »
I've been making starters directly in Erlenmeyer flasks for a couple years now. Some on an electric coil stove, but never directly on the coils. Use some sort of diffuser between the coils and the flask to avoid the hot spots. Mine was a doubled up, perforated aluminum thing sold as a "double boiler". Takes forever to get to a boil, but at least you get good control of the heat to limit boil overs. I've switched to a small Coleman propane camp stove that screws directly onto the bottle and have had pretty good success provided the flask is adequately sized. I had a 500 ml crack using this small burner but 1L and 2L flasks have been good to go with the heat output available.

As for the boil overs - It is best to keep your initial volume of wort to about half the total flask volume Then 5-6 drops of a foam control agent per 1L of wort usually keeps the foam inside the flask, even with Wheat DME.  Don't forget the stir bar before you start the boil if you've got a stir plate. As someone else here mentioned, Cold bar+hot glass=unhappy brewer.