Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Building Water  (Read 9542 times)

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Building Water
« on: November 01, 2013, 09:59:09 am »
I have very little chemistry knowledge. My well water seems to make good beer. If there is a weakness I would say it's when trying to bring out maltiness in light colored beers.

I tried reading the Brun water page and it was largely over my head. The calculator wouldn't work on my smart phone. But I found the calculator on brewersfriend.com/water-chemistry and I THINK I figured it out.

I know that I need to get a Ward test done on my water but meanwhile I thought I'd try this water building everyone talks about.

Using the brewers friend page, with 100% distilled water, and the Light/Malty profile, this is what I came up with.
9 gallons total water
3 grams gypsum
6 grams calcium chloride
.5 g Epsom
.5 g canning salt

Does that sound right?
Does this all go in the mash, or do you treat all of the water first then divide it up into mash and sparge?
Anything essential that I'm missing?

Thanks

Offline beersk

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • In the night!
Re: Building Water
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 10:13:46 am »
I'd say skip the epsom and canning salt, it's really not necessary. But definitely use Bru'n water, it's awesome. I use 100% RO and usually only add a couple grams of either gypsum or calcium chloride or a combination of both in the mash water. For your sparge water, you won't need to make any adjustments and can add your flavoring salts to the kettle before bringing to a boil.
Jesse

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2013, 10:19:16 am »
I can't get Brun water program to work on my phone, which is my only computer.

So you're saying add the gypsum and calcium chloride to the mash water. What are the flavor salts you add to the kettle?

Offline tschmidlin