Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mild APA - can it be done?  (Read 4033 times)

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
Mild APA - can it be done?
« on: November 04, 2013, 08:44:58 pm »
I'm drinking too much. There I've said it. Well maybe not too much as too high ABV beer. I find after a few on a Friday I'm getting too buzzed. Plus I've been dieting for a few months so they seem to be hitting me a lot harder.
So I'm wondering if a decent. 3.5 % APA can be achieved?  Brewed a batch of 60/- today at 1.038 and I have a lot of WLP001 yeast ready so does anyone have any thoughts on a low ABV but still somewhat hoppy beer?

I'm thinking a high amount of Munich as the base with a bit of crystal 40 and mash high with only late hop additions.
Thoughts?

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Mild APA - can it be done?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 09:16:06 pm »
I think yes you can. In fact, like pink is the new black, session may become the new IPA. What I mean is that I think 3-4% beers are going to make a come back. They add to the challenge too. Hard to hide faults in little beers. Next week actually I'm brewing a couple sub 4% brews. Giving my taste buds a bit of a break.

Offline phunhog

• Brewer
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2013, 09:22:33 pm »
I have been brewing a Session IPA that everyone loves. It comes in at 4.3% but it could get a little lower.  I use 2-row, Munich, C-20, and Wheat. The key is to get the mouthfeel right so that the beer doesn't come across as thin.  I mash high(157-158) to really increase the mouthfeel and to support the high level of hopping.  I keep a 1:1 BU/GU ratio with a FWH addition and then all late addition/dry hops.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2013, 09:27:26 pm »