Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: RO vs. Tap Water?  (Read 2964 times)

Offline mdbrew

• 1st Kit
RO vs. Tap Water?
« on: November 21, 2013, 10:48:59 pm »
I have been brewing for about 9 months now and have just started doing all-grain batches (I've done 3 so far).  The beer has come out well and I really enjoy the process and learning more about how to make excellent beer.  Up to this point, I've been using 50% tap water and 50% RO water from the store.  I have been checking the mash pH and it has been around 5.6/5.7 each time.  I've been using the paper testers, which I know aren't super accurate, but at least I think I'm in the ballpark.  I finally decided to get my water tested and just got the results back from Ward Labs.  Here is a brief overview of the results:
pH = 7.4
Na = 29 ppm
Ca = 31 ppm
Mg = 8 ppm
HCO3 = 117 ppm
SO4 = 2 ppm
Cl = 38 ppm
Total Hardness (CaCO3) = 111 ppm
Total Alkalinity (CaCO3) = 96 ppm

So, is there any advantage to working with my tap water to get the right ion balance and mash pH level or would I be better off starting with a clean slate (i.e., RO water) and building from there?  I just started reading Water: A Comprehensive Guide for Brewers by Palmer and Kaminski, so it's possible I may find an answer in there.  However, I thought I'd check to see what other people think.  Any suggestions or additional information would be greatly appreciated - thanks!
Primary: n/a
Secondary: English Bitter
Bottled: Rogue Dead Guy Clone, Honey Bee Ale, Cream Ale, Octoberfest
Next up: Doppelbock

Offline singletrack brewer

• Cellarman
Re: RO vs. Tap Water?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2013, 05:04:13 am »
Your water isn't too far off from what we have at our brewery.  Not surprising though since you are also in Maryland.  Anyway, I don't see any issues using your water as is and adjusting from there.  Two great tools to use are Bru'n Water and a calculator from Brewer's Friend.  Here are the links: