Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First use of washed yeast...delayed start?  (Read 2961 times)

Offline apple

• Cellarman
  • Converting grains to good times, one mug at a time
First use of washed yeast...delayed start?
« on: November 10, 2013, 09:43:10 am »
I brewed my second batch of http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/dead-ringer-ipa-extract-kit.html yesterday. Last August I washed yeast (Wyeast 1056) from my first batch and have had it in the fridge ever since.

This is my first time using washed yeast and was really nervous about messing up a batch. I did a 1.5L starter about 18 hours before pitching. That thing was rocking and rolling within a few hours. It actually had a bit of a head when I turned the stir plate off. I pitched the whole thing into my 5 gallon batch.

I was really surprised when the air lock wasn't bubbling within a few hours. In fact, because I was cooling down from about 74 F to 67 F, the airlock was actually sucking backwards slightly. By this morning it was still at a slightly negative pressure (by that I mean the s-shaped airlock was more full on the carboy side than the vent side.)

It was time for some action. I gave the corboy a good swirling. This released quite a bit of pent up gas and the airlock foamed. I've done that a couple times now and it seems to be starting up fermentation slowly now.

Questions: I assume things are going to pick up now and ferment normally. Does this lag mean I've wasted the advantages of my starter? If this turns out to be the equivalent of underpitching, what might I expect in terms off flavors in the beer?

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: First use of washed yeast...delayed start?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2013, 10:04:15 am »
I'm not sure that you're lag time is out of the realm of normal. Its sounds like you're going to be fine.