Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Gusher from the bottle. Why?  (Read 11645 times)

Offline steve olson

• 1st Kit
Gusher from the bottle. Why?
« on: November 20, 2013, 01:10:14 pm »
I have been brewing for just 4 years. The last 3 have been all grain and I still bottle. I am very happy with the majority of the results.

I still do not understand, WHY that happens. I could understand it, if I had a some trub or fruit, instead of just yeast that moved forward to the finish in the final beer. Or maybe, if I added too much priming sugar at bottling. Or, if I did a lousy job of cleaning the bottles and equipment. I make a habit to clean, rinse and sanitize everything before I brew AND before things are put away.

I notice that some beers can be active early on, before allowing the beer to finish. But it normally settles out later in the fridge. Others can behave nicely in the beginning, but seem to come alive later.

Thank goodness, that the Gusher is the exception to the rule and only shows up once in a while, and not very many of them.

Thank you for any advice you can share.

Steve.

P.S. Have a Happy Thanksgiving...

Offline singletrack brewer

• Cellarman
Re: Gusher from the bottle. Why?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2013, 01:19:18 pm »
Hey Steve, sometimes these little setbacks can be annoying but not to worry as we can assist in helping you overcome this.  Can you fill us in a little more as to the recipe info, what yeast you used, OG and FG of the beer prior to bottling and such.  The more we know the more we can assist you in solving the problem.
Chris
Brewer, Push Brewing Co

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2013, 02:01:40 pm »