Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Keg and carboy washer build  (Read 5090 times)

cornershot

Keg and carboy washer build
« on: November 15, 2013, 03:41:50 am »
I'd like to build a keg and carboy washer using a sump pump. I have the basic design but after borrowing a friend's, I noticed it doesn't clean the shoulder of the carboy all that well and I still had to clean it with a brush. Is there a way to make it spray the shoulder of the carboy as well as the bottom and sides while still fitting through the carboy opening? Any other considerations I should take into account when building this? Does it need a ball valve to regulate pressure?
BTW I'm not an engineer but I am pretty handy and I have probably every tool I could possibly need for this.
Thanks in advance!

Offline hubie

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Keg and carboy washer build
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2013, 10:50:41 am »
What are you using for the end of the sprayer, i.e., what is the hole pattern?  Also, what are you using for a cleaner?  Is it wetting the entire surface on the inside including the shoulder?  If so, it might only be a case of running it longer.  The stuff that dries up near the neck eventually comes off in a PBW-like soak.  There are various garden hose sprayer ends you can use, but I don't know of any that would get you more than a upper hemispherical pattern.  If you wanted to brute-force it, you could make the wand out of 1/2" copper, put a cap on the end, and take a small drill and drill a bazillion holes at different angles along its length, sort of the Zapap approach.

You could also go with water fountain nozzles:  http://www.atlanticfountains.com/spray_patterns.htm