Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Using whole vanilla beans  (Read 7011 times)

Offline guido

• Brewer
Using whole vanilla beans
« on: November 23, 2013, 07:47:28 am »
I've never used whole vanilla beans before.  I know you need the alcohol to extract the vanilla.  I want to add some to a pumpkin beer that has a ( 5 gallons) Belgian dark strong as the base.  I want only a subtle vanilla flavor.  I was thinking about taking one whole bean, slicing it down the center, and leaving it in the secondary while conditioning.  Is this the right number, or should I add more.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

-"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Offline thebigbaker

• Brewmaster
  • Denver, CO
Re: Using whole vanilla beans
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 08:21:36 am »
I've never used whole vanilla beans before.  I know you need the alcohol to extract the vanilla.  I want to add some to a pumpkin beer that has a ( 5 gallons) Belgian dark strong as the base.  I want only a subtle vanilla flavor.  I was thinking about taking one whole bean, slicing it down the center, and leaving it in the secondary while conditioning.  Is this the right number, or should I add more.

That sounds good.  I've only used vanilla twice, and each time I used it I used two in a 5 gallon batch.   I just split them, scraped out the insides, cut the beans into 2-inch pieces and threw everything into the beer.  I got this method from when I brewed Denny's "Bourbon Vanilla Imperial Porter" recipe that was in an issue of last yr's "Zymurgy."  Even if your vanilla flavor is more than you like, the vanilla will start to fade.  Hope this info helps, your pumpkin beer sounds delicious.
Jeremy Baker

"An escalator can never break: it can only become stairs. You should never see an Escalator Temporarily Out Of Order sign, just Escalator Temporarily Stairs. Sorry for the convenience." - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Jeff M

• Brewmaster