Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Diacetyl after bottling...thoughts about causes and solutions  (Read 4484 times)

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
Diacetyl after bottling...thoughts about causes and solutions
« on: December 08, 2013, 10:35:00 am »
Disappointed with this IPA that developed a substantial amount of diacetyl in the bottle, not sure what went on here. It's my first attempt at an IPA, so I don't know if I'm missing something here.

Black IPA, nothing too crazy here. I fermented it with S04 at 61F for seven days and reached terminal gravity. Let it rise to room temperature (low 70s) for three days. Then cold crashed as cold as I can get it with my equipment (around 40F). Transferred to bottling bucket to dry hop away from the yeast. Transferred the beer cold, using my normal racking equipment. Dry hopped at room temperature for five days with the hops in a hop sack. Removed sack, added priming sugar and bottled as normal. Bottle conditioned at room temperature for two weeks.

Tasted beer at bottling, no diacetyl present. Beer properly carbonated but there is a strong amount of diacetyl present. I didn't perform a FFT but to get that much diacetyl in the bottle I assume it would have been present at least a little in the tasting at bottling. My wife is extremely sensitive to diacetyl and she didn't detect any at bottling either.

Thoughts on causes? I have fermented S04 at those temperatures using this same process at least ten times with no diacetyl issues in the beer. I've also dry hopped using this same process with no diacetyl problems. No appearance of infection in the bottle. No pellicle in the bottle. No unusual haze or off texture to the beer (except the diacetyl). No sourness. No other off flavors detected.