Author Topic: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill  (Read 764 times)

Offline troybinso

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« on: December 10, 2013, 12:46:10 PM »
I pulled the motor out of my broken down front load washer. Here are the specs on it:

110v   50/60hz  16000 rpm

Any chance I can easily slow this down enough to work as a grain mill motor? If not, anyone have any fun uses for it?

Online morticaixavier

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 5690
  • Davis, CA
    • View Profile
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2013, 12:49:38 PM »
I pulled the motor out of my broken down front load washer. Here are the specs on it:

110v   50/60hz  16000 rpm

Any chance I can easily slow this down enough to work as a grain mill motor? If not, anyone have any fun uses for it?

sure, you should be able to with a pully and belt just figure out how many RPM you want and get the right ratio. 1600? 1:10 160? 1:100
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time" - A. Einstein

Jonathan I Fuller

Online mtnrockhopper

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2885
  • Delaware
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2013, 12:51:46 PM »
16,000 rpm? Is that powered by jet fuel?
Jimmy K

Delmarva United Homebrewers - President by inverse coup when the old president ousted himself.
AHA Member since 2006
BJCP: B0958

Offline alestateyall

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2013, 01:01:58 PM »
I am thinking that motor would make a great go cart! 200+ MPH

Offline troybinso

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2013, 01:02:40 PM »
I pulled the motor out of my broken down front load washer. Here are the specs on it:

110v   50/60hz  16000 rpm

Any chance I can easily slow this down enough to work as a grain mill motor? If not, anyone have any fun uses for it?

sure, you should be able to with a pully and belt just figure out how many RPM you want and get the right ratio. 1600? 1:10 160? 1:100


Ok, say I want to get it to about 300 rpm. I would go 1:50 to get 320 - right? Wouldn't that turn out to be a huge pulley? The Part on the motor where the belt would attach is one inch diameter.


Online morticaixavier

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 5690
  • Davis, CA
    • View Profile
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2013, 01:09:46 PM »
I pulled the motor out of my broken down front load washer. Here are the specs on it:

110v   50/60hz  16000 rpm

Any chance I can easily slow this down enough to work as a grain mill motor? If not, anyone have any fun uses for it?

sure, you should be able to with a pully and belt just figure out how many RPM you want and get the right ratio. 1600? 1:10 160? 1:100


Ok, say I want to get it to about 300 rpm. I would go 1:50 to get 320 - right? Wouldn't that turn out to be a huge pulley? The Part on the motor where the belt would attach is one inch diameter.

sure would, if your drive gear is 2 inches across your driven gear would have to be 100 inches across.

it's probabaly also possible to control the speed of the motor given that the washer doesn't always spin at full spin cycle speed. so you don't have to use just gear ratio to do it but you will want to step the RPM down with gear ratios to increase your torque some so it will actually grind the grain without just binding up.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2013, 01:58:32 PM by morticaixavier »
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time" - A. Einstein

Jonathan I Fuller

Offline surfin_mikeg

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2013, 01:16:04 PM »
16000 rpm is fast enough that the spindle design and diameter of anything attached to it needs to be taken into consideration.   I use something like this to bring rpms down to safer levels:  http://www.amazon.com/MLCS-9400-Standard-Router-Control/dp/B001JHQ3G8


Offline troybinso

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2013, 02:17:54 PM »
16000 rpm is fast enough that the spindle design and diameter of anything attached to it needs to be taken into consideration.   I use something like this to bring rpms down to safer levels:  http://www.amazon.com/MLCS-9400-Standard-Router-Control/dp/B001JHQ3G8

That thing is pretty cool. If I used something like that, couldn't I ignore the pulley ratio and just use that controller to get the rpms I wanted?

Online morticaixavier

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 5690
  • Davis, CA
    • View Profile
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2013, 02:19:57 PM »
16000 rpm is fast enough that the spindle design and diameter of anything attached to it needs to be taken into consideration.   I use something like this to bring rpms down to safer levels:  http://www.amazon.com/MLCS-9400-Standard-Router-Control/dp/B001JHQ3G8

That thing is pretty cool. If I used something like that, couldn't I ignore the pulley ratio and just use that controller to get the rpms I wanted?

only if the motor has enough torque.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time" - A. Einstein

Jonathan I Fuller

Offline troybinso

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2013, 02:41:58 PM »
How can I tell if there is enough torque?

Online morticaixavier

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 5690
  • Davis, CA
    • View Profile
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2013, 03:05:24 PM »
How can I tell if there is enough torque?

My google-fu is not it tip top shape but I think you have all the info you need to figure that out. It's the power of the motor (here noted in the Volts and frequency you mentioned) multiplied by the RPM but I am not sure what the equivalency is between 200v @ 60 hz and say a 5 horse power motor.

I am 100% certain however that there is someone on this forum that can answer you more exactly.

***EDIT TO ADD**

Here is an about.com article. to thick for me right now.

http://www.ehow.com/how_5108098_calculate-motor-torque.html
« Last Edit: December 10, 2013, 03:07:29 PM by morticaixavier »
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time" - A. Einstein

Jonathan I Fuller

Offline klickitat jim

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2648
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2013, 03:10:46 PM »
Where's Carl? I'm certain he has a great definition of torque

Offline troybinso

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2013, 03:12:55 PM »
Thanks for the link. I wasn't even sure where to start figuring out torque.

Offline troybinso

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2013, 03:27:11 PM »
So to figure out torque, I first need to know horsepower, and to figure out the horsepower I need to figure out the amps that it draws. Any help on how to figure these things out? Underneath the information about volts, hz and rpm there is a line on the label that says this:

*1.44.A* 

but I don't think that is referring to amps.

Online morticaixavier

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 5690
  • Davis, CA
    • View Profile
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: 16000 rpm motor for grain mill
« Reply #14 on: December 10, 2013, 03:29:28 PM »
So to figure out torque, I first need to know horsepower, and to figure out the horsepower I need to figure out the amps that it draws. Any help on how to figure these things out? Underneath the information about volts, hz and rpm there is a line on the label that says this:

*1.44.A* 

but I don't think that is referring to amps.

that might be it.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time" - A. Einstein

Jonathan I Fuller