Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Harvested Yeast Question  (Read 6082 times)

Offline In The Sand

• Brewer
Harvested Yeast Question
« on: December 23, 2013, 04:50:28 pm »
Harvested this wlp 001 from a pale ale last Friday. This is my first time and I'm about to use it to make a starter for an IPA I'm doing Friday. In this picture, you will see a very small light colored layer between the beer and the darker yeast(?) layer at the bottom. Is this light layer the only viable yeast from what I harvested?
Trey W.

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Harvested Yeast Question
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 06:25:58 pm »
How did you harvest? Swirl and pour? Or did you wash it?

I swirl and pour. I also don't do a starter if my harvest is fairly fresh. I decant the beer and pitch a cup to a cup and a half of the harvest. (Amount depending on OG or Lager)

When I restart I only use about 100 ml of the harvest in a 2000ml stir start

Offline In The Sand

• Brewer
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 06:34:40 pm »

How did you harvest? Swirl and pour? Or did you wash it?

I swirl and pour. I also don't do a starter if my harvest is fairly fresh. I decant the beer and pitch a cup to a cup and a half of the harvest. (Amount depending on OG or Lager)

When I restart I only use about 100 ml of the harvest in a 2000ml stir start

I rinsed it then transferred to one gallon container. Decanted beer then transferred yeast off trub to one quart container. Put in fridge. I thought people always make starters with harvested yeast. Especially if you want it to go farther. But I don't know that's why I'm asking the questions.
Trey W.

Online reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, 08:36:57 pm »