Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: balancing higher gravity beers  (Read 1352 times)

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
balancing higher gravity beers
« on: January 02, 2014, 11:27:36 am »
Hey Guys. Looking for some pointers regarding IBUs for higher OG beers. I am planning on doing small batch "double" versions of some of my regular beers with OGs around 1.080 and finishing ABV around 8-8.5%.

When balancing the bitterness should I just follow the IBU:OG from the normal recipes? For example, I am planning to do a double version of my Blonde which has a IBU:OG of 0.4. When adpating that to a higher OG of 1.077 I would get a bitterness level of 32 IBUs or so. I am basically taking the same hop additions and just increasing them to the same ratio. Does this seem appropriate? Any advice would be much appreciated since I have little experience brewing higher OG beers.
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: balancing higher gravity beers
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 11:53:57 am »
Seems like a good guess.  You won't really know what you like til you brew it.  It may take a couple times to get it right.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 11:55:25 am »