Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Low OG  (Read 2167 times)

Offline markcrum

• 1st Kit
Low OG
« on: January 02, 2014, 06:44:28 pm »
I'm still a newbie, and if there is a rookie mistake, I've made it. That being said, my OG numbers have been consistently 1 to 1.5 short of target. My mash temps are good but have tried not to lift cooler lid too much to keep heat in. Wondering if haven't been mixing water/grain enough and if more often and vigorous stirring of the grain bed would help?

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Low OG
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 06:53:02 pm »
1 to 1.5 degree plato? Or gravity points?
How are you estimating?
If with an app or software, what efficiency % is it set at?

OG targeting is a matter of adjusting to YOUR  efficiency, assuming there's no huge issue there. If your actual brewhouse efficiency is around 70% +/- 5% then I would reset my recipe calculator to that number and go from there.

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 07:01:13 pm »
As Jim said, establish your efficiency? Are you calculating an efficiency into your recipes or are you basing it on potential extract of malts? Are you hitting your final volumes?

Stirring once real well to break up all of the grain at the beginning of the mash is good enough... There's no need to open the cooler and stirring again until you sparge.... Are you sparging?
Frank

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 07:13:16 pm »
Good questions and advice. Give us specific info about your brewing process, measuring technique, etc. and we can help.
Jon H.

Offline markcrum

• 1st Kit
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2014, 08:01:09 pm »